Nate Wooley’s Knknighgh (US/DK/DE/SL) Spinifex Maximus (NL/DE/PT/US/CZ) 0+

180 min
Nate Wooley’s Knknighgh (US/DK/DE/SL) Spinifex Maximus (NL/DE/PT/US/CZ)

Nate Wooley (USA) – trumpet
Lotte Anker (DK) – alto saxophone
Felix Henkelhausen (DE) – double bass
Dré Hočevar (SL) – drums

This international quartet of an American trumpetist Nate Wooley will be performing for the first time in the Czech Republic. Nate Wooley is one of the most interesting and original trumpetists of present day. He has performed in bands and big bands in Oregon where he was born since 13 years old. In 2001 he moved to New York where he became one of the greatest musicians of the Brooklyn independent music scene. He flawlessly moves between traditional jazz, free improvisation, classical music, noise and new music. In the past Wooley has collaborated for example with John Zorn, Anthony Braxton, Fred Frith or Evan Parker. He will be performing with his not-so-easy-to-pronounce quartet Knknighgh which innovatively combines free jazz and creates a surprising blend of new music.

John Dikeman (US) – tenor saxophone
Tobias Klein (DE) – alto saxophone
Jasper Stadhouders (NL) – electric guitar
Gonçalo Almeida (PT) – bass
Philipp Moser (DE) – drums
Michal Wroblewski (CZ) – baritone saxophone
Marcel Bárta (CZ) – tenor saxophone
Jiří Genrt (CZ) – tube
Jan Přibil (CZ) – trumpet
Didrik Ingvaldsen (NO) – trumpet
Richard Šanda (CZ) – trombone

The international group Spinifex from Amsterdam teams up with the most creative Czech jazz musicians of mid and young generations to create a special project for the JGTT festival. Spinifex Maximus is a big band of eleven musicians featuring exclusively at this year’s JGTT. Their music is incredibly intense and presents an original mix of modern jazz, musical avantgarde, trash metal and HC. The highly diverse musical combinations break down established styles and genres. Its most prominent features are mathematically precise rhythmical structures and detailed compositions, extreme changes in beat, explosive improvisations, unexpected melodic turns, exquisite solos and strong grooves. The quintet and the powerful wind instrument section of Czech players work as one organism, drawing listeners in from the first beat.



Chci odebírat newsletter

Kliknutím na tlačítko "Přihlásit se" souhlasím se zasíláním newsletteru na uvedenou emailovou adresu.